Friends….. How Many Of Us Have Them???

For the most part, EVERYONE has a friend!! A person that has your best interest at heart, someone that can keep your deepest secrets, a person that loves you for you and has your back till death do you part. A friend is a person that will tell you when you are wrong and help you up when you have fallen, a person that wants to see you grow in EVERY aspect of your life and can’t wait to see what your future holds.

When I Googled ‘definition of friend’, this came up….. “a person whom one knows and with whom one has a bond of mutual affection, typically exclusive of sexual or family relations”……. Urban Dictionary however had an even better definition, but it’s long (I deleted some too), so brace yourself: A friend is someone you love and who loves you, someone you respect and who respects you, someone whom you trust and who trusts you. A friend is honest and makes you want to be honest, too. A friend is loyal.

A friend is someone who is happy to spend time with you doing absolutely nothing at all; someone who doesn’t mind driving you on stupid errands; someone who forgives you no matter what you do, and someone who tries to help you even when they don’t know how. A friend is someone who tells you if you’re being stupid, but who doesn’t make you feel stupid.

A friend is someone you look forward to seeing and who looks forward to seeing you: someone you like so much, it doesn’t matter if you share interests or traits. A friend is someone you like so much, you start to like the things they like.

A friend is a partner, not a leader or a follower.

Thus being said, I just want to say a few words about some of my best friends!!! I’ve had the pleasure to meet different people in different aspects of my life and they have all enhanced my life in one way or another. God knew what he was doing by sending me such an amazing group of people that love me for me and enhance my life on the regular…..

image

Shout out to my VERY BEST FRIEND, Myron!!! A man that has seen me at my best and my worst. Someone that calls me out when I’m wrong, but tells me with love how to correct the situation. Myron is a man that will pray for me when I’m having a bad day, just as he will call me and remind me of all the craziness we partook in as youngins…. Myron has had my back since 3rd grade and he absolutely loves me and my son. He is definitely a gift from God!!!

image

And these girls are my ride or die!!! KP, Michael, and CoCo are the most supportive girls ever. We laugh, we cry, we pray, and we praise together!! I’m so thankful for the genuine friendship that we share!!!

image

And there is GT…. My sistas from another mister!!! DeDe, Quetta, and Nikki…. My Goof Troop!!!! These chicks mean the world to me, they are the best friends I could ever ask for! A lot of my life experiences came from the ruthless adventures of GT….. Oh the memories!!!

image

And here’s Megan! This girl here, my God!!! She is Braylon’s God-Mother, we share her husband, but most of all, we share a love/bond for one another that no-one could EVER break! Megan is just the bomb.com, and though we have different views on many topics, she accepts me for who I am, and she embraces the woman that I grow into, on a daily basis! Words really cannot express the love I have for her!!!

image

And my sis Taz!!! This chick here has grown into a beautiful woman and mother. We’ve been friends since she was in like the 6th grade, and I was in 9th. This girl here has been my biggest fan. She and I have had a difference in opinion on several topics, but one thing about it, we are able to encourage each other in Christ!! She keeps me grounded, and brings me back to reality when my head is in the clouds. I love you so much Taz, and I thank you for an awesome friendship!!

http://youtu.be/0-X164HhVDE

There are several other people that I want to mention. Heather, Molly, and Lauren!!! Thank you so much for being my prayer partners, my friends, my confidants. Thank you for being so supportive of my goals and dreams, but more, thank you for your commitment to drawing me closer to Christ.

And Brittany and Christina, thank you for just being you. Our conversations, our laughs, our workouts, just everything about our friendship is organic and genuine. You ladies believe in me, and my dreams. You are so uplifting and positive!!! And I miss you both dearly!!! Hola mamacitas!!!

Lastly, Sonya, Nozi, and Karen!!!! My big sisters, my friends, my prayer partners, my monthly laughs, but most importantly, MY GREAT Christian examples. These ladies prayed me through a divorce, prayed when I was lost, down and out, they just prayed because I asked!!! I couldn’t imagine my life without them. Ladies, when Sonya had the vision of a woman’s fellowship, I was excited and skeptical. I didn’t know what to expect, but I knew that bonding with Christian women was important to me. Our numbers dwindled, but the experiences and conversations I have with you are second to none. I love you dearly and I’m extremely thankful that God trusts me enough to have such special and AMAZING friends!!!

There are other people that I genuinely cherish just as much, but I either don’t have the words or I’m having a brain fart!!!! But know I love you and appreciate you!!!

……and this concludes my presentation!!!

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Friends….. How Many Of Us Have Them???

  1. Lionel says:

    Continue to cherish and honor your friends. I have seen these people and others have your back, help and support you. You are Truly Blessed to have these people in your corner and in your life.

  2. Very nice Lauren! You are a great writer and do a great job speaking your heart and mind into these posts. Very proud of u and honored to be your friend! Miss u and love u!!!

  3. Michael says:

    And we are just as blessed to have you as a friend also

Leave a Reply

