The Love Fast: Day 2

When I was younger, around 15ish, I just knew I was in love with this boy. We went to church together, Bible Study, sang in the youth choir, his mom loved me, we held hands, talked on the phone till all hours of the night, this was my boo. We talked about marriage; I just knew I was in love…… Then we broke up!!! I remember crying, not going to Bible Study, sitting in the back at church, I was SO sad!!! I thought I was a song writer back then too, so I wrote these lyrics: What is love? Cause I need to know! How do my feelings show? Does it matter if I’m young or old? What is love? Why do I feel this way? I have to know, I have to know!!

With that being said, what is love?? UrbanDictionary.com defines love as, “… love is unconditional affection with no limits or conditions: completely loving someone. It’s when you trust the other with your life and when you would do anything for each other. When you love someone you want nothing more than for them to be truly happy no matter what it takes because that’s how much you care about them and because their needs come before your own. You hide nothing of yourself and can tell the other anything because you know they accept you just the way you are and vice versa.” 

This is a grand definition of love per the modern day standard of love, however, what does the Bible say about love? 1 Corinthians 13:4-8a tells us that “Love is patient and kind; it is not jealous or conceited or proud; love is not ill-mannered or selfish or irritable; love does not keep a record of wrongs; love is not happy with evil, but is happy with the truth. Love never gives up; and its faith, hope, and patience never fail. Love is eternal.” Verse 13 goes on to read: Meanwhile these three remain: faith, hope, and love; and the greatest of these is love.” These verses give us a detailed list defining love, and pretty much breaking down the characteristics of love; which we should obey and practice in regards to everyone we meet. 1 Corinthians 16:14 commands us to “show love in everything you do.” And 1 Timothy 1:5 reads:  The purpose of my instruction is that all believers would be filled with love that comes from a pure heart, a clear conscience, and genuine faith.”

love like Jesus

As we are looking for Christ to move in us and guide us in ways we have NEVER seen before during this fast, we need to genuinely evaluate whose definition of love we live by!! Again, the ultimate purpose of this fast is to promote the LOVE OF CHRIST in our lives! When we can love like Christ loves, and keep His commandments and get ourselves aligned to His will, He will give us the desires of our hearts. Trust me, loving like Christ is NOT an easy task! But know that when we can take the step forward to be more Christlike, we can ONLY reap benefits!

Jesus loves us SO MUCH!!! He wants everything we have to offer! He wants to get the glory in the midst of our mess! He blesses us for us to be a blessing  to others, and for us to tell the goodness of what he has done in our lives. Christ LOVES us so much that he DIED on the cross for our sins and our salvation!  There is NO GREATER LOVE than the love that Christ expressed for us many moons ago! But we can reap these benefit TODAY and we can thank Him by loving like He loves!!! By committing to live a life according to the scriptures, according to His will and his ways! The following video is a cover of “How He Loves”! These kids have BEAUTIFUL voices and praise the Lord!!! Enjoy!!!

Random Act of Love: Today, I challenge you to HAND WRITE a letter to someone you genuinely LOVE. Someone that has been patient with you, kind to you, someone that has had your back since you can always remember. Someone that even at your worst saw your best and continued to encourage you! Express your love to this person, and let them know that you genuinely appreciate them for who they are and their influence in your life. Mail it and look at the response you get!!

Prayer: Thank you Jesus!!! Thank you for loving me when I was lost! Thank you for loving me TODAY! Thank you for EVERYTHING!!! For just for being who you are! For meeting me where I am! For being EVERYTHING I need and for giving me the strength, courage, and passion to draw nearer to you! As I am studying LOVE, I pray that you will teach me how to love like you love! I ask that you will be with me in all of my new endeavors as it relates to love. Father God, I praise you in everything I do, and I thank you in advance for all the mighty things you have in store for me! I pray that you will align me to your will and your ways so that I can receive everything that you have for me! I pray that you will continue to bless me as I know that I am not perfect, but I want chase after you and your perfection. Father God, you get the glory, you get the praise, you take the honor, I just want to say thank you!!! Thank you Lord! Thank You!!!

 I say this pray in your son Jesus name I pray. Amen and Praise God!

Leave a Reply

