The Love Fast: Day 4

My good friend Trent Williams has written a song entitled For Your Grace, and ultimately this is one of MY FAVORITE worship songs EVER!!! The lyrics simply say, “Where, would I be if GRACE, had not saved me? Where, would I be if not, for your MERCY? When I am lacking, your grace is enough, when I deserved Hell you  gave me your love, and I just want to thank you for your AMAZING GRACE!!” — Now, i’m sure we have all heard that God’s grace is sufficient and His mercy endures forever! But if it wasn’t for the LOVE to God, grace and mercy would be foreign to us.

Listen to the song (YouTube video below), and when you LOVE it, go on Amazon, iTunes, or anywhere else digital music is sold and purchase it for $0.99!! How about the plug… LOL!!!

Grace, unmerited favor. A gift of kindness/blessings from God that we don’t deserve!!

Mercy, not getting what you deserve. A withheld punishment.

Though grace and mercy are very similar, they are completely different yet they compliment each other in every aspect of God’s Love. Romans 3:22-26 reads, God treats everyone alike. He accepts people only because they have faith in Jesus Christ. All of us have sinned and fallen short of God’s glory. But God treats us much better than we deserve, and because of Christ Jesus, he freely accepts us and sets us free from our sins. God sent Christ to be our sacrifice. Christ offered his life’s blood, so that by faith in him we could come to God. And God did this to show that in the past he was right to be patient and forgive sinners. This also shows that God is right when he accepts people who have faith in Jesus. — This scripture expounds on God’s Grace and Mercy, as we have all sinned and fallen short of the glory, but God treats us better than we deserve. That is mercy, when we sin, we deserve a punishment, yet many times, we don’t get the punished because God loves and protects us with his mercy!! The scripture goes on to say “God freely accepts us and sets us free from our sins”, and that is grace, God FREELY ACCEPTS is a gift that we don’t deserve. 

GotQuestions.Org gave an AWESOME example of God’s Grace and Mercy: “Mercy and grace are best illustrated in the salvation that is available through Jesus Christ. We deserve judgment, but if we receive Jesus Christ as Savior, we receive mercy from God and we are delivered from judgment. Instead of judgment, we receive by grace salvation, forgiveness of sins, abundant life, and an eternity in Heaven, the most wonderful place imaginable. Because of the mercy and grace of God, our response should be to fall on our knees in worship and thanksgiving. Hebrews 4:16 declares, “Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

As we think of God’s Grace and Mercy today, think about the ultimate act of love that Christ delivered as he was hung on the cross! Think about how much love GOD has for us to encompass us with his grace daily love and new mercies everyday! Think about the love of Christ that doesn’t strike us dead even though we sin and all short of the glory! As humans, we have so many shortcomings and inadequacies, yet we are ALWAYS protected by the love of Christ. As we think about Christ today, and meditate on his grace and mercy, lets remember that God’s Grace and Mercy was shown point blank period, at the cross!!!

For God so LOVED the world that he gave his only son, that whosoever believes in him shall not parish but have everlasting life!

Prayer: Father God I come to you, just thanking you for your grace and mercy. Thanking you for your love and kindness, your compassion, your strength, your thoughts, your fulfillment. Thank you for dying for my sins, as I have sinned and fallen short of the glory. Lord I thank you for being so good to me and meeting my each and every need. Thank you for your word and for all of the promises that you have listed and will deliver! Lord I pray right not for restoration in you. I pray that you will fill me and consume me like nothing else can do. Lord I pray for peace of mind, deliverance from my storms and a way out of no way! Lord I am asking you to continue to bless me and to keep me from all harm, sudden death or accident! Lord continue to cover me as I want to do your will in everything I do! Bless me Father! Keep me Father! Love me Father, like only you know how! I say this prayer in your son Jesus name I pray… Amen and Praise God!!!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

