The Love Fast: Day 5

forgive

In April 2012, I got divorced from my abusive husband. I was heartbroken being that I never imagined that I would EVER get a divorce. To me, divorce was not an option and I could not imagine being a single mother to a toddler child! I feel that I tried and tried to make my marriage work, but God had other plans for my life!

As I adjusted to the single life, I began to crave the companionship. I craved someone to be there when just wanted talk, someone to just give me a hug when I was lonely. I wanted to be in love so bad! I wanted a MAN!!! I remember praying and praying and asking God why me? Why did he “allow” me to marry a man of such poor character. Why did he allow me to stay in such a bad place? Why didn’t he get me out!

I remember asking him to send me this Christian man that stood 6’2 or taller, dark skinned, athletic build, with facial hair!! I just knew that God was going to send me this man because I prayed for him on a regular basis. I just knew that my dream man was going to sweep me off my feet any day and that I was going to live happily ever after! But God QUICKLY humbled me when I heard a sermon on forgiveness. He put it heavy on my heart that if I wanted to move forward in my love life, that I needed to learn TRUE FORGIVENESS!! 

Matthew 6: 14-15 reads, If you forgive others for the wrongs they do to you, your Father in heaven will forgive you. But if you don’t forgive others, your Father will not forgive your sins.” This scripture was a hard pill for me to swallow, being that I couldn’t forgive a man that physically, emotionally, and verbally abused me. I began to pray for my ex-husband, and pray for a forgiving heart. The thought of forgiveness began to come easier for me. I had to study forgiveness, and when I learned about the way Christ forgives, I began to genuinely forgive as well.

Micah 7:18-19 reads “Our God, no one is like you. We are all that is left of your chosen people, and you freely forgive our sin and guilt. You don’t stay angry forever; you’re glad to have pity and pleased to be merciful. You will trample on our sins and throw them in the sea.” — Everyday we sin, and we fall short or the glory. Every day we allow situations to make us angry, some of which we hold grudges FOREVER! However, we claim daily that we want to live Christlike, but we don’t want to forgive those that have wronged us. The prefaced scripture tells us that not only does God forgive us, he doesn’t hold our sin against us, he shows us pity and continues to grant us new mercies each day. 

As a Christian, we should learn to walk in forgiveness. We should be a people that expresses the LOVE of Christ daily by being slow to anger and quick to love. As we are fasting, and looking at the love of Christ as it relates to our personal lives and relating it to future relationships, being able to forgive is necessary. TheLoveDaily.Com offers this GREAT thought when connecting forgiveness and love: “Step #1 to manifesting a soul mate is all about forgiveness: Forgiving yourself for all the ways you make yourself wrong for past relationships and forgiving your “ex’s” for all the ways you judge them as having done you wrong.”

Let the act of forgiveness marinate in your spirit today, as you may enter into a new day with new mercies. Forgiveness is not for the person that has mistreated you, instead it is for you, so that you are able to move forward in every aspect of your life. Wheter you need to forgive a person, yourself, or even God, know that step one resides in you! Know that Christ died on the cross for our sins and he forgave those that crucified him!

forgiveness

Prayer: Father God in Heaven! I know that you are a God that sits high and looks low, you are a God that forgives me even though I am so undeserving. You are a God that loves me despite the fact that I sin and fall short of the glory. Father I pray that you give me forgiving heart. I pray that as I move forward in my life, that you will allow me to seek your face even when others hurt me! I pray that you show me how to love instead of being so quick to anger when I am mistreated! Father, I know that every situation that I have been through thus far is a portion of my testimony and I forgive all of the people and situations that caused me pain. Father God, I love you dearly and I pray that you will continue to grow in me. I pray that your word will manifest in my heart so that I can be a better man/woman in you. Lord I love you and I thank you in advance for all the mighty things you have prepared for me! I say this prayer in your son Jesus name I pray. Amen and Praise God!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

