The Love Fast: Day 10

whats your type

Ever been walking through the mall and see someone of the opposite sex and you say, ohhhh he/she is defiantly my type. Or you say, he/she is cute, but they are just not my type! I’m sure everyone has done it, because everyone pretty much has a type… So take a minute and make a list of your type of man/woman.

For example, looks wise, Carolina Panthers player Mario Addison is my type. I love a man that is 6’2 or taller, dark skinned, facial hair, muscular build, beautiful teeth. When I am getting to know someone, I look for someone that makes me laugh, that can text in complete sentences, interested in trying new things, a self-starter, genuine, kind, but most of all, a non-smoking CHRISTIAN!!  Check out Mario Addison!!! Cutie Pie!!!

Mario Addison

Anyway, I have pretty much liked this type of man for as long as I can remember. But wait, my crushy crush is not 6’2, he is not dark skinned, he is kinda muscular, no facial hair, but he does have beautiful teeth. However, he is an absolute God send! He is one of the most genuine people that I have ever met. He is great with my son, he makes me laugh, he PRAISES THE LORD, he LOVES THE LORD, he is very ambitious, he is a go-getter, he is such a great guy, and I genuinely enjoy being around him. I say all of this to say, everything that looks good to you may not be good for you!

Jeremiah 29:11 reads: “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” If God has plans for us in whom our future will prosper, why do we put limits on God? Why do we restrict him on what we will ultimately accept, when he has someone absolutely perfect for us?? This person may not be what we want based on his/her looks, but God will not give us anything less than what we need.

I have been very humbled because, “my type” of man was not all that I thought he would crack up to be. Every man that I dated that was “my type”, hollered he was a Christian, but he was so in the world that his light would not shine! My type was not as respectful as I deserved. But when I took a step back and looked outside of “my type”, I have met some pretty amazing men!

I say all of this to say, let’s not limit what God has for you based on your preference. Psalms 37:4 says “Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” I have always thought that this scripture meant that God will give me what I want point, blank, period…. But what I have learned is that the desires of my heart ultimately are to be happy, to be loved, to be complimented, to be encouraged, to be treated with respect, to be in a relationship with a guy that will love me for me. The desires of my heart are to have someone by my side that will support me through thick and thin, someone that will cherish the moments, and be my best friend. A man that will be absolutely perfect for me in every way, shape and form.

I guess today, look into what really matters. Are you looking for a God-fearing mate that will cherish everything you have to offer? Or do you want a special feature that will fade as time rolls by and you grow old?  Remember that God has someone that is absolutely perfect for you. This person may or may not be exactly what you look for ascetically, but he or she will be just what you need! God knows what is best for you! He knows who and what will compliment your characteristics! He is preparing you for your mate, just as he is preparing your mate for you!

Proverbs 18:22 says, when a man finds a wife, he finds a good thing and has favor in the Lord. Ladies, God will send you to the place where you potential husband is. Your husband will find you and you will be amazed at how awesome this man is!! And men, when you see her, make your move!! Women like a man that is going to approach her and treat her like the lady she is! Good luck on this journey, I pray that you will be perfectly ready for your mate when you meet him or her!!

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for waking me up this morning and giving me the chance to embrace this day. Thank you for being perfect, and loving me throughout my imperfections! Thank you Lord for being able to see the physical characteristics that I like in a partner, but thank you even more for letting me see what I characteristics I like beyond looks. Lord I pray right now that you will lead me and guide  to my mate, according to your will an your ways. I thank you for your love and kindness, and for allowing me to be the person you have designed me to be! Lord I ask you to give me the desires of my heart as I prepare to be the husband/wife that you have called me to be. I am ready for whoever you have for me and I am ready to embrace the love that we will share! Thank you Lord! I say this prayer in your son Jesus name I pray. Amen and Praise God!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

