The Love Fast: Day 1

Not too long ago, a very good friend of mine told me about “The Love Fast”. I was VERY interested in the fast, but he had no scriptural references, he was just fasting from ‘love’ and ‘lust of the eye’…. So I prayed…… And here we go!!!

Image

Matthew 6:16-18 (Contemporary English Version) reads like this about fasting: When you go without eating, don’t try to look gloomy as those show-offs do when they go without eating. I can assure you that they already have their reward.  Instead, comb your hair and wash your face. Then others won’t know you are going without eating. But your Father sees what is done in private, and he will reward you.

With that being said, this fast is between you and God. You don’t have to share your intentions to fast with anyone, just put your trust in him and he will provide. He will lead you and direct you…… But most of all, he will reward you!!!

As I’m doing this fast, I’m praying about a specific person. I’m asking God for clarification of my feelings and emotions!! Take this time to get intimate with Christ, but you can ALSO pray for a specific person of interest in which you are wanting clarification of your situation. Or pray that God will lead you to the person that he has for you, and that you and he/she is ready to embrace all the God has for you two. Or, you can even just pray for your future spouse; cover them now, for a situation they are in may be prolonging you from meeting or moving forward!

Day 1 is easy. It’s just a run down of the fast, and what is expected…… So here we go!!!

The Purpose: ‘The Love Fast’ is to promote the love of Christ in your life. It is designed that you may find understanding in God’s word and the direction he has for you and your love life. You may also find your purpose in Christ as it relates to the true direction in which He is leading you with your future mate.

This fast is a time for you to intimately talk to Christ and find out what he desires for you as you add new loving relationships to your life! The fast will honestly be different for different people, being that we are all in different stages of our lives in regards to relationships. So pray and focus on what fits YOU most!!!

The Fast: Within this fast, you should not have contact with any of your exes nor anyone you are attracted to, have feelings for, are interested in, or anything else of the sort. You should not participate in sexual activity of any kind, including masturbation, and you should remove any distractions that take your focus off of Christ and yourself. I suggest getting rid of social media during the fast, so that you are not tempted to lust after and communicate with beautiful people. And yes, a double tap on Instagram is communication.

How Long: 14 days….. Not too bad!! Hey, it’s 2 weeks, you got this, you can do it!!

The Word: Each day will have a scriptural reference. Read it, in different versions of the Bible if you must, but ensure you have a clear understanding of what you are reading! The word of God should draw you nearer to Christ during your fast and you should begin to see your relationship with him become more intimate.

Random Acts of LOVE:  Some days will have a RANDOM act of love for you to engage in. I suggest you read your devotional in the morning so you can prepare for your random act of LOVE throughout the day.

I guess that’s it….. If you have questions, feel free to reach out to me. Ellebsaidwhat@gmail.com.

I hope the Holy Spirit is able to move in you over the next few days and you are able to find true love in HIM!

Prayer: Father God, I come to you, thanking you for life, love, relationships, and you just being you… Thank you for being a forgiving God and a merciful God and someone who loves me in spite of all my sin and wrong doings. Lord I pray today that you will open my mind and heart to love like you love. Show me a sense of self love in which I’ve never experienced and a future in you that goes above and beyond all I could ask or think. I love you God and I praise you in advance for all you are doing and will do in my life. I say this prayer in your son Jesus name I pray.

Amen and praise God!!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment